23rd February 2016

Cricket Champions

On Sunday 21 February the B Grade St Mary’s Nagle Cricket Team won the One Day Final against Lucknow. The team consisted of two current students: Josh Large (Year 12) and Koby Noonan (Year 9); current staff member Farooq Younas, and Old Collegians Adrian Paterson (Class of 1992), Jason Paterson (Class of 1990), Ross Casey (Class of 1993), Brad Toohey (Class of 1992), Mick Mann (Class of 1992), Jackson Cropper (Class of 2013) and Ash Free (Class of 2007). Other team members were Pete Winett and Mahesh Rathnasiri.

The club has struggled for a few years rebuilding and, as The Advertiser clearly indicated in their write up on Friday 19 February, the team were very much the underdogs going into the final. It was a comprehensive win with St Mary’s Nagle scoring 133 then bowling Lucknow out for 75. It was a great day for the club and supporters, topped off by Ross Casey taking out Man of the Match. So nice to see the Old Collegians and current students together in the team, and many current students supporting them on the day.