Hockey State Champions

On Thursday 13 August the Nagle College Senior Boys’ Hockey Team, comprised of students from Year 11 and 12, travelled to the Footscray Hockey Club for the finals of the School Sport Victoria Hockey State Finals.

In their first game Nagle College defeated Blackburn High School 7-1. Goal scorers were Alex Crowe 3, Oscar Crunden-Smith 2, Sam Parwata 1 and Jack Bowden 1. The second match saw Nagle College defeat St Arnaud Secondary College 6-0. Goal scorers were Darcy Simpson 3, Riley Simpson 1, and Oscar Crunden-Smith 2. In the last pool match, Nagle College were up against a strong Maribyrnong Sports Academy team. Nagle came out on top winning 3-1. Scorers for Nagle were Darcy Simpson, Sam Parwata and Oscar Crunden-Smith with one goal each.

In the final, Nagle played Warrnambool College. In a very tight game Oscar Crunden-Smith scored a penalty stroke in the first half to give Nagle the lead. Excellent defence from Chas Newcomen and Darcy Willowhite (Goalkeeper) stopped a number of scoring opportunities from Warrnambool College. Nagle’s defensive effort was the building block to an excellent 1-0 win.

This is the third State Championship for this team. They won the SSV State Championships in 2011 as Juniors, and again in 2013 as an Intermediate team. They were runners-up in 2012 and 2014 in the SSV competition and were the Catholic All Schools Champions in 2010. Winning the State Championships in 2015 rewarded their commitment to hockey and confirmed their dominance in this sport over six years.

Team members, under the guidance of coach Mr Bryan Smith, were Darcy Willowhite (Goalkeeper), Chas Newcomen, Oscar Crunden-Smith, Ben Howden, Sam Parwata, Zach Coulton, Darcy Simpson, Riley Simpson, Jack Bowden, Jack Neal, Kurtis Geier, Alex Crowe and Jordan Gibbs.