Year 9: Overview

Ms Gillian Mason and Mr John O'Sullivan, Middle School Coordinators

The Year 9 program is designed to equip young people with the knowledge, skills and behaviours that enable them to engage fully with the social and technological environment of the future, to understand its issues and to achieve successful lives in an increasingly complex and challenging world.

The Year 9 program has a number of key features:

  • Developing critical and creative thinking skills as well as enhancing the ability of students to work collaboratively in teams.
  • Identification of learning styles.
  • Techniques for enhancing memory, information accessing, processing and evaluation.
  • Focus on Information and Communications Technology (ICT).
  • Communication skills required to present to a particular audience.

It is expected that the students will:

  • Increase their knowledge of the elements of metacognition.
  • Become aware of their learning styles.
  • Attempt to make effective decisions so that they can begin to take control over their own learning.
  • Acquire a favourable attitude to learning.
  • Set standards for understanding and performance and so more accurately evaluate their learning.
  • Become more effective independent learners by being able to diagnose and overcome difficulties, using class and private time productively.


In Year 9 all students must do the following Core subjects for the whole year:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Sport

Students must also complete a Pathways unit and a Health unit; each of these units is conducted for one term.

As well as the core units, students must select a total of 22 term-length electives from Humanities, Science, Health and Physical Education, Arts, Language, Design 5 and Creative Technology, Information and Communications Technology (ICT), Religious Education and Interdisciplinary areas. With the choosing of electives it is hoped Year 9 students take more responsibility for their learning and are engaged in their learning programs.

NAPLAN (National Assessment Program - Literacy and Numeracy)

NAPLAN commenced in Australian schools in 2008. All students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9 are assessed annually using common national tests in Reading, Writing, Language Conventions (Spelling, Grammar and Punctuation) and Numeracy. For full details of the NAPLAN please visit the VCAA website: www.vcaa.vic.edu.au.